On the Rocks

On the Rocks

This is an old photo of me standing on the Giant’s Causeway, a rock formation on the Northeast coast of northern ireland. There is a groovy story that goes with this formation. The science is that it is the result of a great big ass lava fart, forming a series of basalt columns.

I like this one better.

I have to tell you that Scotland has a matching formation on the Isle of Staffa that is part of the same big lava fart.

The legend is that the columns are the remains of a causeway built by the giant, Finn MacCool so that he could fight the Scottish giant Benandonner. If you are wondering they must be giants, then clickety click the link at the end so you can get a sense of how big this formation is.

So MacCool sets off and catches sight of Benandonner , but he runs back home when he realizes that the Scottish giant is far more giant than he is. MacCool’s wife, sharp cookie that she is, disguises him as a baby and tucks him into a cradle.

When Benandonner sees this giant baby, he figures the father of this child to be the giantest of giants and runs back to Scotland, ripping up the Causeway as he goes so that he can’t be followed. Those Scottish lads are hardcore. This bridge was not just burnt, it was so completely demolished that just the ends on either side were left.

Have you ever done that, so completely demolished a bridge that you can never go back? Or maybe you just let it fall into so much decay that it fell on its own. I’ve done both and the results were both good and bad. Maybe it was just time to build new bridges.

I am a bit melancholy, because I am sending my doggy to the Rainbow Bridge in a couple of days. It has been a hard decision and I am not looking forward to it. She has degenerative myelitis which is a progressive neurological illness. It started in a back leg which we thought was broken, and then the vet gave us the bad news that there was no fixing her. She would just progressively get worse. that was in March 2012 and now she can barely prop up her front to eat. This is not a good doggy life and it is time to chase rainbows.

I contacted my ex-boyfriend to let him know. He came to say his goodbyes and we caught up on about a year’s worth of news. His aunt died. His mom sent their doggy to chase rainbows. Maybe auntie Ann and Pepper will play with my doggy there. I hope so.

I should probably be more like a Buddhist and try to find the lesson here but it is a bit too painful right now. I am still trying to learn to be present in the moment even when it is so painful it feels like my face is being chewed off. This has not been a graceful process. I will keep trying, but I don’t think it will ever be graceful.

It’s a rocky path much like the Giant’s Causeway. I fell. I got up. I fell again. I sat for a while. I think the lesson is that there will be falling, getting up, and sitting out for a while. This is the journey.

I had a fabulous furry partner for 13 years of it. I am grateful for that.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Giant’s_Causeway

I will blog about Folk Fest later.

About nev1967

I am absolutely brilliant at being boring. With enough caffeine and nicotine, I can conquer anything. And with a lot of help from my family and friends. I am humane and human. I am a human feminist.

2 responses to “On the Rocks”

  1. Charlene Doucette Raymond says :

    I am sorry to hear about Pudge…she is an amazing creature. Thinking of you ❤

  2. Trina Taralson says :

    So sorry to hear about your furry friend 🙂 She was awesome! Remember that when you do fall you never have to try and get up on your own. You have an abundance of friends who will be there to help you. Take care.

Leave a Reply

